Ruling Party MPs join All-Party Conference against salary anomalies suffered by school teachers and principals

An all party conference was held in Narahenpita Abhayarama Temple this (06) afternoon demanding the elimination of salary anomalies suffered by school teachers and principals for decades. The conference was chaired by Chief Incumbent of Abhayarama Murutthettuwe Ananda Thero and was organised by the National Coalition Against Teacher-Principal Salary Anomalies.

Many political leaders including Leader of the Opposition Sajith Premadasa joined the event. But it was also noteworthy that several politicians from the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), one of the main political partners of the Ruling Party, were also present in the occasion. Former President MP Maithripala Sirisena and SLFP Secretary Dayasiri Jayasekara joined the event.

In addition, MP Athuraliye Ratana Thera and MP Wijedasa Rajapaksa representing the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) the Ruling Party were also present.

Chairman of the National Movement for Social Justice (NMSJ) former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya, Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MP Shanakyan Rasamanikkam and former Education Minister Akila Viraj Kariyawasam were also present in the occasion.

Representatives of 13 teachers’ unions representing the National Union Against the Teacher-Principal Salary Anomalies joined the event and the political parties present in the occasion expressed their support for the fight against the salary anomalies.

Photographs: Lankadeepa

Leave a Reply

#Tags; lanka c news, jvp news, hiru news, gossip lanka news, sri lanka news